Drummer Skip Prokop formed Lighthouse in 1968 and began adding members soon after: guitarist Ralph Cole (whom Prokop had played with in the Paupers), Grant Fullerton, Pinky Dauvin, saxophonist , cellist Dick Armin, violinist Don DiNovo, keyboard player , saxophonist Keith Jollimore, vocalist Bob McBride, trumpeter Peter Pantaluk, trombonist Larry Smith, and bassist Louis Yackniw. The band released two albums on in 1969 and played at the Newport and Monterey Jazz Festivals and the Isle of Wight Festival, though they had turned down Woodstock. In late 1970, they released Lighthouse’s third album, Peacing It All Together, then dropped the band. 1971 brought One Fine Morning and Thoughts of Movin’ On, and in 1972, the group released Lighthouse Live! and Sunny Days. The band lost members, beginning in 1973 when left, followed by Bob McBride and Skip Prokop in 1974; the group eventually disbanded in 1976.

Lighthouse had released Can You Feel It (1973) and Good Day (1974), and in 1975, The Best of Lighthouse appeared. Original members re-formed for live shows in 1982 and 1993, and another greatest-hits album, The Best of Lighthouse — Sunny Days Again, was issued in 1989. Postcards from Heaven followed in 1998. Both Bob McBride and Skip Prokop had somewhat successful solo careers. Sadly, Bob McBride lost his battle with substance abuse on February 20, 1998. He was 51.